32 charter members and the Ohio Society Governor met in downtown Toledo for the organization’s first meeting to become the 5th colony in the state of Ohio to receive a charter, June 20, 1940. Members came from all over northwestern Ohio. They chose to commit to two projects. Through the early 1980’s, members distributed copies of the Mayflower Compact to schools, churches and libraries throughout northwest Ohio. For the second project, each year the colony purchased and donated genealogy and local history books to libraries. In 1977 the current Five Generation books were donated to libraries in Bowling Green, Fostoria, Tiffin, Bluffton University , and Paulding County libraries; and in 1980 to the library at Bowling Green State University. Throughout the years, the colony has concentrated book donations to the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library’s Local History and Genealogy Department (downtown) and the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library and Museum in Fremont. The complete set of Mayflower Silver Books was almost completed by 2019 when SMDOH generously donated books to complete those collections at Toledo and the Hayes. Toledo Colony members made presentations for the Ohio Society. SMDOH also donated an entire new set of the Silver books to the local history Center of the Williams County Library in Bryan. SMDOH Governor, Sandra St. Martin, joined our colony members for that donation ceremony.

In March 1991, Lois Hall, last living charter member, and two other colony members instituted the practice of having the Hayes Presidential Library and Museum store the records for SMDOH and Toledo Colony minutes. Stored SMDOH items include membership rosters from 1898-2012 , minutes from 1936-2012 and other miscellaneous items. These records are open to the public and available on-line.



2023 Spring Newsletter
2023 Scholarship Information
2022 Fall Newsletter
2022 Spring Newsletter
2021 Fall Newsletter
2021 Summer Newsletter
2021 Spring Newsletter
2020 Fall Newsletter
2020 Summer Newsletter
2020 Spring Newsletter
2019 Fall Newsletter
2019 Summer Newsletter
2019 Spring Newsletter
2018 Fall Newsletter
2017 Spring Newsletter
2017 Fall Newsletter
2018 Spring Newsletter
2018 Summer Newsletter


Lt. Governor
Deputy Lt. Governor
Communications Secretary
Jr. Membership Coordinator
Board of Assistants Rep
Colony Board Members
Judy Rand
Dawn Carr
Jeff Stoll
Mike Brewster
Andrea Traunero
Paula Niederhauser
Edmund Trafford

Contact a Toledo Colony Officer

2023 Spring Newsletter
2023 Scholarship Information